The Legislature has provided funding for payment of exam fees for both fee-reduced (low-income) and non-fee-reduced students. To qualify for exam fee reimbursement for your students, each school must return the 2014 Advanced Placement Program Application (Cover and Budget sheet) to MDE by April 18, 2014.
Please note the deadlines listed below. Schools are responsible for adhering to all deadlines in order to receive reimbursement for qualifying student exams.
March 28, 2014: View and complete the AP Exam Order Form, indicating number of fee-reduced and non-fee-reduced exams for your school.
April 18, 2014: Complete the Advanced Placement Program Application 2014 and send to: Jacqui McKenzie, Minnesota Department of Education, 1500 Highway 36 West, Roseville, MN 55113
May 2014: Following the completion of exams, fill in the “Option 1” oval on the student’s answer sheet for fee-reduced, category-one students. For non-fee-reduced, category-two students, fill in the “Option 2” oval. AP exam materials must be returned before the close of the first business day after the school's last scheduled exam of a particular administration period (i.e., regular or alternate).
June 16, 2014: Complete the online 2014 AP Exam Invoice and send full payment for exams to the AP Program at Educational Testing Service. The invoice will have a section for calculating the Minnesota reimbursement. To receive reimbursement, you must also send a copy of the 2014 AP Exam Invoice: State Copy, to: Jacqui McKenzie, Minnesota Department of Education, 1500 Highway 36 West, Roseville, MN 55113.
Fee-Reduced Exams (Category-One Students)
Each year the College Board provides fee reductions of $28 for qualified candidates who are unable to pay the full $89 fee for the Advanced Placement Exam. The basic guideline for financial need is membership in a low-income family, defined by federal Low-Income Guidelines or eligibility for free or reduced-price lunch. The additional cost of $53 per exam will be paid by the state for all exams for qualifying students. The school must first apply for a fee reduction from the College Board. The state will pay the difference the student would ordinarily pay after the $28 fee reduction from the College Board and $8 school rebate.
Non-Fee-Reduced Exams (Category-Two Students)
To the extent available, the state shall pay examination fees for students sitting for an AP exam. This year the state will pay $50 for each non-fee-reduced exam. Any additional costs to students will be $31 (or $39 if the school collects the $8 rebate from the College Board).