Resources

Mileage Reimbursement for Low-Income Students Participating in the Postsecondary, Open Enrollment and Charter School Enrollment Options Programs

2013-14 School Year

Students from low-income families participating in the Postsecondary Enrollment Options (PSEO) Program (Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.09), Open Enrollment Program (Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.03), or attending a charter school (Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.10) may qualify for some mileage reimbursement. The income levels used to determine eligibility for these programs have changed for the 2013-14 school year.

In the PSEO program, qualifying low-income students will be reimbursed for travel from their homes to the postsecondary institution or from their high schools to the postsecondary institution. In the open enrollment and charter school programs, qualifying low-income students will be reimbursed for travel from their homes to the school district boundary or attendance area boundary.

The mileage reimbursement is set at 15 cents per mile and travel is limited to 250 miles per week. There is an exception to the 250 miles per week limit in the PSEO program if the nearest postsecondary institution is more than 25 miles from the student’s home or high school.

The 2012 Legislature amended Minnesota Statutes 124D.09, postsecondary enrollment options act to include 10th-grade public school students who have attained a passing score on the reading section of the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments and meet course perquisites to take a career or technical education course as a PSEO student.

This program is also available to districts or charter schools that choose to provide out-of-district transportation on a fee basis. The district or charter school can be reimbursed only for the transportation costs of those students who qualify as members of low-income families. Districts are eligible for 15 cents per mile per eligible student. This program is only available for students enrolled in a district under the Open Enrollment program, Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.03, or in a charter school under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.10.

View copies of the forms (http://education.state.mn.us/MDE/SchSup/SchFin/Trans/Res/index.html).

There are three forms in both programs. The income levels for the 2013-14 school year can be found on the second page of the Monthly Transportation Reimbursement Request. The following is a general overview of each form:

Application for Student Transportation Reimbursement – The family completes this form at the beginning of the application request with their annual income and family size. (For families that have open enrolled to another public school district, this application is sent to the enrolling district.) The family may be asked to complete the form during the school year if there is a change in their financial status.
Student Transportation Reimbursement Request – If the family qualifies for these programs (based on the application form they completed), then they must complete this form (expense claim) on a monthly basis.
Monthly Transportation Reimbursement Request – The district summarizes the information from the Student Transportation Reimbursement Request to complete this form and sends the form to the address listed in the form’s upper, left-hand corner. The annual income levels, to determine eligibility, are listed on the second page of this form.

In addition to the forms, districts can find instructions about these programs on the MDE Web site and on the second page of each form. If you have any questions regarding the mileage reimbursement for low-income students’ participation in the Postsecondary, Open Enrollment and Charter School Enrollment Options Programs contact Kelly Wosika at 651-582-8855.