Meeting Minutes

Early Learning Council

May 15, 2012

Approved: August 7, 2012

Present: Patricia Nordahl, Fred Senn, Karen Cadigan, Jeanne Ayres, Barb Yates, Erin Sullivan Sutton, Maria Erlandson, Sara Carlson, Carol Miller, Barb Fabre, Art Rolnick, Donna Henning, Denise Mayotte, David Counoyer, Jill Timm, Sue Hoeft, Senator Terri Bonoff, Dianne Haulcy, Victoria Campoverde and Representative Nora Slawik

Unable to attend: Scott McConnell, Mary Vanderwert, Yeu Vang, Jacqueline Cross, Carolyn Smallwood, Representative Jenifer Loon, Miriam Mohamed, Molly Rieke, Senator Pam Wolf and Michelle Zadra

Public members: Megan Waltz, Nancy Jost, Teri Steckelberg, Mary Orr, Maggie Deibel , Ann McCully, Kathleen James and Layna Cole

1. Welcome and Goals for the Meeting

2. Approval of Minutes from April 17, 2012

Jill Timm made a motion to approve the minutes from April 17. The motion was seconded. The motion was passed.

3. Appointments

Barb Yates, chair, reminded council members that they were appointed by the governor. She reiterated that other than state agency staff, council members represent their personal knowledge and experience rather than a group of people.

4. Council Priorities

Judy Plante from Management Analysis facilitated discussion of priorities. Council members described their concerns, experience with and thoughts about inclusion of K-grade three in the work of the council. Many members felt additional information and conversation was needed.

Access, accountability and great work force issues were discussed in terms of what needs to be attended to in the next 120 days, one year and at a date to be determined.

5. Next steps

Work groups were created to identify action steps to be taken in the next 120 days. Access work group includes: Carol Miller, Barb Yates, Denise Mayotte, Dianne Haulcy. Accountability work group includes Donna Henning, Karen Cadigan, Erin Sullivan Sutton and Barb Yates. Great workforce work group includes: Patty Nordahl, Karen Cadigan and Barb Yates.

6. Public Comment

Layna Cole, Minnesota State University Moorhead: Asked for help and guidance regarding how to bring resources and collaborations to greater Minnesota.

Nancy Jost, West Central Initiative: Expressed her concern regarding wages in early childhood programs stating that if wages are not competitive, candidates will not be drawn to the field.

7. Adjournment

Barb Yates made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Erin Sullivan Sutton seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned.