Press Releases

Media Advisory: May 17, 2012

Contact: Keith Hovis, 651-582-8275

Minnesota’s Distinguished High School Students Honored for Exemplary Levels of Performance

Forty-two Minnesota Students Will be Honored at the Scholars of Distinction Ceremony Saturday, May 18, 2013

Roseville, MN – Forty-two distinguished Minnesota high school students will be honored Saturday at the Scholars of Distinction award program in the areas of Science, STEM, Mathematics, Social Studies, Leadership and Theater Arts.

Deputy Commissioner Jessie Montano will be on hand for the ceremony at the Perpich Center for Arts Education to congratulate the scholars. To earn recognition, a student must complete required work in Minnesota’s academic standards, demonstrate mastery of complex subject matter, and apply their knowledge and skills on challenging projects.

What: Minnesota Scholars of Distinction 2013 Awards Ceremony

When: Saturday, May 18, 2013 at 1:30 pm

Where: Performance Hall, Perpich Center for Arts Education, 6125 Olson Memorial Highway, Golden Valley, MN 55422

Scholars of Distinction by School are:

The Academy of Holy Angels, Richfield, Minn.

· Derek Schwartz, Scholar of Distinction, Theater Arts

Blaine Senior High, Blaine, Minn.

· Michael Voit, Scholar of Distinction, Theater Arts

The Blake School, Minneapolis, Minn.

· Sanjana Srivastava, Meritorious Performance, STEM
· Iman Pakzad, Scholar of Distinction, Science

Breck School, Minneapolis, Minn.

· Abby Erdmann, Scholar of Distinction, Mathematics
· Caleb Kumar, Meritorious Performance, Leadership
· Claire Simpson, Scholar of Distinction, Mathematics
· Greer Bingham, Scholar of Distinction, Science
· Paige Dempsey, Scholar of Distinction, Science
· Kira Hinz, Meritorious Performance, Science
· Achinth Murali, Scholar of Distinction, Science
· Madison Bigos, Scholar of Distinction, Social Studies
· Darius Bieganski, Scholar of Distinction, STEM
· Zachary Donahue, Meritorious Performance, STEM
· Matthew McMillan, Meritorious Performance, STEM
· Peter Metzger, Meritorious Performance, STEM
· Elliot Weiler, Meritorious Performance, STEM

Century High School, Rochester, Minn.

· Marcus Gomez, Scholar of Distinction, Science

Cloquet Senior High School, Cloquet, Minn.

· Kendra Anastasia Pallin, Scholar of Distinction, Science

Duluth East High School, Duluth, Minn.

· Timothy Renier, Scholar of Distinction, Science

Eagan High School, Eagan, Minn.

· Ridhima Mishra, Scholar of Distinction, Mathematics
· Reid Emmons, Scholar of Distinction, Theater Arts

LaCrescent-Hokah High School, LaCrescent, Minn.

· Amanda Wright, Meritorious Performance, Theater Arts

Moorhead High School, Moorhead, Minn.

· Nina Grollman, Scholar of Distinction, Theater Arts
· Devon Manney, Scholar of Distinction, Theater Arts

Mayo High School, Rochester, Minn.

· Neehar Banerjee, Meritorious Performance, STEM
· Neehar Banerjee, Scholar of Distinction, Science

Minnetonka High School, Minnetonka, Minn.

· Eric O. Sargent, Scholar of Distinction, Theater Arts

Roseville Area High School, Roseville, Minn.

· Aditi Das, Scholar Distinction, Science

Stillwater Area High School, Stillwater, Minn.

· Andrew Ylitalo, Scholar of Distinction, Mathematics, Science and STEM

St. Anthony Village High School, St. Anthony, Minn.

· Felicia Hamann, Meritorious Performance, Leadership

Wayzata High School, Wayzata, Minn.

· Emily Chen, Scholar of Distinction, Science
· Nirupa Galagedera, Meritorious Performance, Science
· Priyanka Narayan, Scholar of Distinction, Science
· Apekshya Panda, Meritorious Performance, Science
· Srilakshmi Vankina, Scholar of Distinction, Science
· William Zeng, Scholar of Distinction, Science
· Maggie Matejcek, Scholar of Distinction, Theater Arts
· Bridget McNiff, Scholar of Distinction, Theater Arts
· Bridget Sperry, Meritorious Performance, Theater Arts

Woodbury High School, Woodbury, Minn.

· Amrita Mohanty, Scholar of Distinction, Social Studies
· Samyuktha Melachuri, Scholar of Distinction, Science