Press Releases

For Immediate Release: May 13, 2014
Keith Hovis, 651-582-8275 or

State Recognizes 30 Schools for Excellence in Behavioral Prevention Efforts

ROSEVILLE – Today the Minnesota Department of Education recognized 30 schools for their successful work using Positive Behavioral Intervention and Supports (PBIS), a data-driven program that provides districts and individual schools throughout Minnesota with training and technical support to promote improvement in student behavior, especially for students with challenging social behaviors. The schools receiving recognition as “Sustaining Exemplar Schools” are leaders in supporting positive behavior, improving school climate and increasing student achievement.

“I congratulate these schools for their leadership in finding new ways to positively address student behavior. Too many times, negative student behavior results in suspensions or detention that takes a child out of the classroom and disrupts their learning,” said Commissioner Brenda Cassellius. “PBIS helps schools set clear expectations for students, teachers and families and new ways to address behavior issues. Each of these 30 schools is showing the benefits of creating respectful and supportive school climates and the positive impact that work can have on student achievement.”

Since its launch in 2005, PBIS has spread across the state and is currently being implemented by 478 Minnesota schools, or 24 percent of the state’s nearly 2,000 schools. To establish a PBIS program, 80 percent of a school's teachers and staff need to agree to implement a more positive approach to discipline. Participating schools then receive intensive professional development, including instruction in how to monitor and track results. Data from participating schools show clear evidence of the program’s success, specifically in reduced number of behavioral incidents, fewer student suspensions and increased levels of student engagement.

To be identified as a Sustaining Exemplar School, staff needed to submit an application that documented their work with PBIS, including, professional outcomes, a plan for sustaining the program and how they are giving back and sharing their practices with other schools throughout the state. Schools must also have been implementing PBIS for at least three years.

The 30 schools being recognized are:

Isanti Intermediate and School for All Seasons, Cambridge-Isanti School District
King Elementary, Deer River Independent School District
Rossman Elementary, Detroit Lakes Public School District
Pioneer Ridge Middle School, Eastern Carver County Public Schools
Chaska Middle School West, Eastern Carver County Public Schools
Lake Crystal Wellcome Memorial Elementary, LCWM Public School District
Maple Lake Elementary School, Maple Lake Public School District
S.G. Reinertsen Elementary, Moorhead Public School District
Bel Air Elementary, Mounds View Public School District
Turtle Lake Elementary School, Mounds View Public School District
Sunnyside Elementary School, Mounds View Public School District
Valentine Hills Elementary, Mounds View Public School District
Oakdale Elementary School, North St. Paul-Maplewood School District
Birch Grove Elementary, Osseo Public School District
Pillager Elementary, Pillager Public School District
Pillager Secondary, Pillager Public School District
North Elementary, Princeton Public School District
Princeton Middle School, Princeton Public School District
Twin Oaks Middle School, Prior Lake - Savage School District
Richfield STEM, Richfield Public School District
George W. Gibbs Elementary, Rochester Public School District
Roseville Area Middle School, Roseville School District
Saint Michael-Albertville Middle School West, Saint Michael-Albertville School District
Sauk Centre Elementary, Sauk Centre Public School District
Sleepy Eye Elementary, Sleepy Eye Public School District
Madison Elementary, St. Cloud Public School District
North Junior High School, St. Cloud Public School District
Discovery (Community) School, St. Cloud Public School District
Westwood Elementary, St. Cloud Public School District
Oak Hill Community School, St. Cloud Public School District