2012 Press Releases

For Immediate Release: March 16, 2012

Contact: Keith Hovis, MDE 651.582.8275 keith.hovis@state.mn.us

Governor’s Task Force on the Prevention of Bullying to Hold First Meeting

This Monday will mark the first meeting of the Governor’s Task Force on the Prevention of Bullying. Established by Executive Order on November 29, 2011, the task force will be charged with examining the best practices and policies that currently exist to prevent bullying and providing future recommendations to the Governor and the legislature on this subject.

“Students can't learn if they don't feel supported and safe. Bullying creates an unsafe learning environment that can have a lasting negative impact on a child. Our schools need to be places that cultivate a positive environment where students can thrive. That's why the mission of the Governor's Task Force is so important,” Minnesota Department of Education Commissioner Brenda Cassellius said.

Department of Human Rights Commissioner Kevin Lindsey said, "Every student deserves to be free of harassment, intimidation and bullying in all its forms. The Governor's leadership in establishing this task force provides an opportunity for us to come together as a community to find real solutions to this problem, and ensure that all kids have an opportunity to achieve their potential in a safe environment."

Comprised of 15 members, the taskforce includes the Commissioners of the Department of Education, the Department of Human Rights, the Department of Public Safety and members of the legislature. Governor Dayton also appointed additional members with experience or expertise in psychology, education, pediatrics and anti-bullying advocacy.

Members of the task force and their affiliations include:

Brenda Cassellius, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Education
Kevin Lindsey, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Human Rights
Willie Bridges, Senior Planning Manager, Hennepin County Attorney’s Office
Vangie Castro, Youth Education Program Manager, Rochester Public Schools
Phil Duran, Legal Director, OutFront Minnesota
Alana Friedman, Teacher
Julie Hertzog, Director, PACER National Bullying Prevention Center
Lyn Mitchell, Co-Founder, AMAZE
Jacob Reitan, Founder, Equality Ride
Walter Roberts, Professor of Counselor Education, Minnesota State University, Mankato
Dr. Thomas Scott, Pediatrician
Senator Ted Daly
Senator Scott Dibble
Representative Jim Davnie
Representative Tim Kelly

The meeting is scheduled to take place at 1:00 pm, Monday, March 19, at the Minnesota Department of Education,
1500 Highway 36 West in Roseville. Conference Center A; Room 13.